Friday Soundtrack, or the one country song I like

Welcome to Aggieland

I've never been so excited to see a water tower.

I’m taking a road trip this weekend. We’re headed south to our home away from home, College Station, Texas.

I can’t wait to get back to Aggieland for a few days. This time around we’ll be yelling Gig ’em as Texas A&M plays the University of Missouri-Columbia, eating at Casa Rodgriguez (best Mexican restaurant in the Brazos Valley), catching up with some friends, and putting a few pennies on Sully. This trip is the inspiration for this week’s Friday soundtrack.

This might be the only time you ever see me post a “new country” song. It’s not, generally, my bag, but I’m making an exception here because it’s about the Aggies.

I fell in love with Texas A&M football at the 1998 Big 12 Championship Game. I was in the Jones Dome with my brother and dad, and wasn’t sure who I was going to cheer for when I got there. But A&M’s fans were all pretty cool, while Kansas State’s fans were generally pretty tacky, so I decided to pull for the Aggies. I got to witness some of the traditions that make A&M football special that day (including the Fightin’ Texas Aggie Band), and even witnessed a piece of Texas A&M football history, as the Aggies erased a 27-12 fourth quarter deficit to upset K-State, dashing the Wildcats’ national championship hopes.

My love for A&M was strengthened this past summer, when my family and I lived in College Station for 10 weeks. I never imagined I’d find a place I love nearly as much as I love Springfield, but Aggieland caught me by surprise. I passed all the pop quizzes my former Texas A&M student friends gave me, so I consider myself an Aggie by Association, or maybe even an honorary Aggie.

This past fall I attended my first Midnight Yell, at Cowboys Stadium in Arlington, before the Aggies took on Arkansas in the Southwest Classic. Granger Smith performed as part of the All-Aggie Hullabaloo right before Yell, and he closed with this song. Not gonna lie: It gave me chills. It may not mean much to you, but to Aggies everywhere – actual or by association – it brings up some pretty strong feelings.

Aggieland is a pretty special place. Or, as they say down there, “There’s a spirit can ne’er be told…”

–QCFM

Leave a comment

No comments yet.

Comments RSS TrackBack Identifier URI

Leave a Reply

