Friday Soundtrack, or why I hate KIA

Dancing Hamsters.

KIA, ruinin' my teenage years.

To be fair, KIA has done nothing to me personally. But every time I see that crummy commercial for their Soul, I get angry. You know the one I’m talking about. Rapping hamsters. Kids love it. Women love it. It’s actually helping boost the company’s car sales. It’s also stealing a piece of my high school days.

The soundtrack to the commercial is “The Choice Is Yours,” by hip-hop group Black Sheep. It’s off their album “A Wolf in Sheep’s Clothing,” which dropped in 1991 and helped change my life. Affiliated with Native Tongue groups like A Tribe Called Quest and De La Soul, Black Sheep’s unique beats – courtesy of DJ Mr. Lawnge – and the intelligent flow of Dres made their music special.

But now, thanks to KIA, when my wife and kids hear that song they’ll think, “Ha ha ha! Dancing hip-hop hamsters!” Tragic.
Black Sheep most definitely fall in the “They Don’t Make ‘Em Like This Anymore” category. But really, they do. Here’s a new-ish track from Dres, “Forever LuvLee” off his “From the Black Pool of Genius” album

Happy Friday, y’all.

–QCFM

3 Comments

  1. I feel the need to defend myself (only slightly, though.) I don’t love it. I find it mostly annoying. And, since I lived a ridiculously sheltered life back then, I have never hear the song anywhere else. Just a catchy tune danced to by some strange hamsters. Which most definitely does NOT make me want to buy a Kia. shudder.

  2. Fair enough, Bethany. Perhaps I should thank Kia for finally exposing you to some classic 90s hip hop? I think one of the thing that gets me about the commercial is the juxtaposition of some very kid un-friendly hip hop and dancing hip-hop hamsters. I’d let my own daughters listen to the radio edit of “The Choice Is Yours,” but the rest of that album is off limits until they’re in high school.

  3. Sadly, isn’t most of what’s being marketed not kid-friendly? I get so annoyed at commercials. Especially during sports! You can’t tell me that the percentage of sports-watchers that’s under 13 or 16 or 18, or whatever the “child” cutoff is now, is negligible. If they are going to include ads for feminine products, they know that there is some mixed company watching, so why not consider that 9-year-old boys, or girls, are watching, too? I really don’t get it. Thank goodness for DVRs, I guess.

    Love your blog, by the way. I always like finding good authors. I am trying to emulate writers like you!


Comments RSS TrackBack Identifier URI

Leave a Reply

